Thank you!

We thank all faculty, staff, students, alumni, partners and Board members, and other stakeholders who participated in this collective effort with their survey responses, feedback, and suggestions that shaped this Strategic Plan.


We also thank the 42 members of the steering committee for their dedication and feedback throughout the process. We especially thank the 10 members of the working group for their hard work. Special thanks to Greg Bean for facilitating the strategic planning process, Roger Barascout for overseeing the logistics of the process, and Barbara Carlin for overseeing the work conducted by the undergraduate and Executive MBA students. We also thank the undergraduate and graduate students who participated in this process for their input and suggestions.


This was truly a collective effort, and we thank all Bauer faculty, staff, students, alumni, board members, and industry and community partners for their support and guidance.


Bauer Stats

Steering Committee

Raji Aiyer, Director of Recruitment and Employer Service, Rockwell Career Center

Roger Barascout, Associate Dean, Strategic Initiatives

Ed Blair, Professor and Chair, Department of Marketing & Entrepreneurship

Sara Brown, Chief Business Officer

Barbara Carlin, Instructional Assistant Professor, Department of Management & Leadership

Dave Cook, Director, Wolff Center for Entrepreneurship

Rex Du, Professor, Department of Marketing & Entrepreneurship

Tom George, Bauer Professor of Finance, Department of Finance

Sarah Gnospelius, Director, Bauer Honors Program

Mary Gould, Director, Registration and Academic Records

Frank Kelley, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Business Programs

Saleha Khumawala, Robert Grinaker Professor of Accounting and Founding Director, SURE ™ program, Department of Accountancy & Taxation

Praveen Kumar, Professor and Chair, Department of Finance

Mohan Kuruvilla, Assistant Professor, Department of Accounting

Steve Lawrence, Executive Director, Small Business Development Center

Dalia Pineda, Director of Advancement, External Relations

Charles Morgan, Director of Information Technology, Bauer Division of Technology

Kaye Newberry, Professor and Chair, Department of Accountancy & Taxation

Vanessa Patrick, Associate Dean of Research, Bauer Professor of Marketing, Department of Marketing & Entrepreneurship

Paul A. Pavlou, Dean and Cullen Distinguished Chair

Paul Peacock, Chair, Bauer College Board

Paul Povel, Professor, Department of Finance

Gary Randazzo, Director, Bauer Executive Development

Alicia Sandoval, Coordinator for Strategic Initiatives, Office of the Dean

Richard Scammel, Associate Dean, Student Affairs and Professor, Department of Decision & Information Sciences

Lisa Shumate, Associate Vice President and General Manager, Houston Public Media

Leiser Silva, Associate Dean, Graduate and Professional Programs

Stephen Stagner, Executive Chairman and CEO, Mattress Firm

Dusya Vera, Professor, Department of Management & Leadership

Steve Werner, Professor and Chair, Department of Management & Leadership

Phillip Wiseman, Ph.D. Student

Kian Zare, MBA Student


Working Group

Greg Bean, Director, Gutierrez Energy Management Institute

Jamie Belinne, Associate Dean, Career and Industry Engagement

Daniel Currie, Professor of Practice, Department of Management & Leadership

Blake Ives, Professor, Department of Decision & Information Sciences

Kris Jacobs, Professor, Department of Finance

Norman Johnson, Professor and Chair, Department of Decision & Information Sciences

Jessica Navarro, Executive Director, Office of Communications

Michael Newman, Director, Senior Professor of Practice, Accounting Programs, Department of Accountancy & Taxation

Keith Richards, Executive Director, Real Estate Program

Randy Webb, Senior Professor of Practice, Executive Director, Stagner Sales Excellence Institute, Department of Marketing & Entrepreneurship


Undergraduate Research Group

Saeed Aijaz

Salman Al-Luqman

Veronica Herrera

Nathan Morales

Nirmal Patel

Sufyan Yousaf