Bauer Associate Professor Earns Early Career Award

Bauer Fellow and Associate Professor Ricky Tan Recognized as Leader of the Next Generation of Information Systems Academics

Photo: Yinliang (Ricky) Tan

Published on October 28, 2022

Bauer Fellow and Associate Professor Yinliang (Ricky) Tan from the C. T. Bauer College of Business at the University of Houston recently earned the INFORMS Information Systems Society (ISS) Sandy Slaughter Early Career Award.

The award honors the memory of the late Professor Sandy Slaughter, who was tireless in her pursuit of recognizing the potential leaders of the next generation of information systems academics. The award recognizes and honors early career individuals who are on a path towards making outstanding intellectual contributions to the information systems discipline.

“I am overwhelmed with gratitude to have been selected to receive this year’s ISS Sandra A. Slaughter Early Career Award. This accomplishment is not something that I can achieve just by myself, and I would like to thank my co-authors, and colleagues for their relentless support,” Tan said.

He added: “The name of this award carries special meaning to me personally. The late Professor Sandra Slaughter is not only a scholar and an inspiration, but she accepted my very first publication of my academic career. As an interdisciplinary researcher in the information systems and supply chain area, I will continue my efforts to conduct high-quality research and look forward to bringing more honors to the Bauer College for many years to come.”

Tan’s recent research interests include blockchain technology, metaverse, management of technology and supply chain management. His work has been published in journals including Management Science, MIS Quarterly, Information Systems Research, Production and Operations Management, Decision Sciences, Human Relations and other premier academic journals.

He has also been recognized as one of the 40 Most Outstanding Business Professors Under 40 worldwide by Poets&Quants and received the Carol J. Latta Emerging Leadership Award for Outstanding Early Career Scholars by the Decision Science Institute.